Edwards/St. Luke’s Scholarship

Since 1993, Historic St. Luke’s Restoration has supported local high school students with a scholarship based on academic merit as well as financial need. in 2000, Arbee R. Edwards and her son Robert Edwards joined in this endeavor to honor her husband, R. Franklin Edwards. And in 2005, the Edwards became sole funders of the scholarship program.

To date, the combined total for all scholarships awarded is $296,000.

Seniors who are graduating from Smithfield High School, Windsor High School, or Isle of Wight Academy may apply if they plan to attend a four-year college program. The scholarship, which awards $3,000 a year to one winner, is renewable for four years. Applications reside in the guidance office of each school.

The funds for the scholarship are managed by the Hampton Roads Community Foundation. The scholarship committee is comprised of current and former board members of Historic St. Luke’s: Nancy Fortier, Verne Edwards, Sarah Wright, and Joanne Willis.

Evan Callaway, 2008 scholarship recipient.

Recipient School Year

Todd Barlow Smithfield High School 1993

Danielle Morgan Smithfield High School 1994

Justin Lowery Smithfield High School 1995

Thomas Routten Smithfield High School 1996

Jessica Delk Isle of Wight Academy 1997

Kristina Baker Smithfield High School 1998

Tamara MacKinnon James River Academy 1999

Jennifer Groves Windsor High School 2000

Joseph Whitley Isle of Wight Academy 2000

Aaron Cox Smithfield High School 2001

Joanna Adams Windsor High School 2001

Stephanie Whitley Smithfield High School 2002

Jared Turner Isle of Wight Academy 2002

Maurice Harris Smithfield High School 2003

Nicholas Summitt Smithfield High School 2003

Andrew Allred Smithfield High School 2004

Ashley Baird Smithfield High School 2004

Annie Lewis Smithfield High School 2005

Aaron Gregory Isle of Wight Academy 2006

Amanda Pezzuto, 2011 scholarship recipient.

Mark Steinert Smithfield High School 2007

Evan Callaway Windsor High School 2008

Chelsea Elmore Smithfield High School 2009

James Codega Smithfield High School 2010

Amanda Pezzuto Windsor High School 2011

Justin Wait Isle of Wight Academy 2013

Connor Edwards Smithfield High School 2014

Emma McIntyre Smithfield High School 2015

Leann Tengowski Windsor High School 2016

Scholarship Committee members:
Nancy Fortier
Verne Edwards
Sarah Wright
Joanne Willis